hades
Just felt like doing some Data mining. What jobs do you guys have (preferably tech-related).. if you don't have a tech job, what kind of tech job do you dream of?

Do you like your job? What does the job entail?

What education did you have before you got the job?

I currently work at Subway while I'm between college and Basic Training. I'm going into the Air National Guard to do Infrastructure, which is basically the military's term for "Network administration". I have a two-year degree in Information Technology, but once I'm done with basic, I plan to attend USM and get myself a fancy CS degree (and I'll be damned if there's no SICP in my textbook list) with a minor in Education.

I want to be a teacher and teach Computer Science (preferably programming). However, if I'm offered a decently-high paying Sysadmin position at a company where I'm guaranteed never to have to touch Windows servers, I'll take it in a heartbeat.

Share your career info and your dreams below.
Jayro
I have been working in the support department of a hosting company for a few years now. However, I was just hired as a Front End Developer and will be leaving the hosting company in 2 weeks. I am in my first year of College.
trgc
I'm a Marine in avionics. I troubleshoot the electronics off the bird and try to keep the pilots happy. Haven't gone to college yet though I do have a pretty good amount of credits.

When I get out I'm hoping to get a hands on job with electronics. Maybe surface mount soldering and what not. I enjoy the non physical side of computing more, which is why I'd like to keep it a hobby.
Klan9 > Plan9! (H0pe)
Klan9foLyfe
kirby
(02-12-2013, 01:05 PM)trgc Wrote: I enjoy the non physical side of computing more, which is why I'd like to keep it a hobby.

Interesting view that, I'm guessing you feel doing your hobby day-in/day-out would make you lose interest? I'm utterly hopeless at Electronics, so that's less of an option for myself.